Global School Play Day

Every time my cousins come over, we have a tradition to play hide and seek once the sun sets, running up and down the block, hiding places doubling as the shadows cast dark shapes on the ground. And of course I accept their invitation to run reckless through the streets, laughing like a maniac as I sprint down the street, counting down the few seconds until the seeker is ready to come out and find the hiders, who duck behind cars and race to a different spot once the seeker turns their back. It’s an exhilarating feeling, adrenaline zinging through the veins in your body, as you curl into yourself,  shrinking into the tiniest form possible in attempts not to be discovered.  

It saddens me to say that our play time is shrinking dramatically as we kids grow older, and that a lot of teenagers are spending more time on their electronics than outside in the sun. And that’s the most horrible thing.

The more electronics companies release, claiming this brand new product will help your life become easier, so you can spend more quality time with your family, the more media hypes it up, signal boosting it to everywhere possible, and people buy it, hoping what the product claims is true, but in the long run, it does just the opposite. 

“This media we call social is anything but.” – Gary Turk

And this is why we need Global School Play Day. Global School Play Day is a day where students around the world participate in unstructured, electronic-free play.

Its sad, in a sense, that we’ve come to this. Scheduling a day where students put down their electronics to embrace their inner kid, and letting their senses run wild as they rekindle the small, innocent roots they once tended to.

On February 3rd, 2016, I had the pleasure of participating in Global School Play day with my AP English class.

IMG_7987.jpg
My English class’s games and toys (I brought my lovely Kohala ukulele in the blue case!)

I really loved GSPD. I felt carefree, and I wasn’t worried about how many likes I got on an Instagram post, or getting caught up with the lastest Facebook headlines, or who Snapchatted me for whatever reason.

I am glad I had the chance to participate in this upcoming movement, which will hopefully take root and grow throughout the upcoming years, and spark a revolution of unplugging, and looking up.

“Talk to each other, learn to coexist.” – Gary Turk

IMG_8001 (5).jpg
Jam session with my friends

 

Leave a Reply

