Manners

“Manner

(Noun) – Ways of behaving with reference to polite standards; social comportment” – (reference.dictionary.com).

Growing up, my parents had taught me to be well mannered. Always remembering to say “please”, “thank you”, “excuse me” / “pardon me” and lastly, “I’m sorry”. Everyone remembers to say those, but that is not all to mannerism, that is just basic social etiquettes.

http://www.gritandglamour.com/2012/06/08/30-days-to-40-lesson-mind-your-manners

Majority of the time, whether it be when I go jogging or simply walking to class, I almost always see people walking with their heads down, bumping into others and not bothering to apologize, and not listening to their friends/acquaintances because they are too absorbed in their phones/technologies.
Being well-mannered is not limited to just saying “please”, “thank you”, “excuse me”, “pardon me” or “I’m sorry”, it also ranges to one’s social actions.

While shopping with my sister today, I saw a couple heading to the same store I was at; so naturally, I held the door opened for them. After holding out the door for about two full minutes, they just walked pasted me without a nod or a simple “thank you”. RUDE.

 

giphy.gif
Giphy

However, it wasn’t what they say, or in this case didn’t say, that disappointed me, it was their action. They were a couple, from their couple bracelets visible on their wrists to their matching shirts, yet both were too immerse in their smart devices to actually communicate with each other. Their eyes looked as if they were glued to their devices’ screens. They weren’t respecting each other first of all, by ignoring one and other, and they weren’t being respectful to other people, me for example.

Having good manners means:

  • You are listening to someone when they are talking to you, look at them in the eyes
  • Your attention is focused on them entirely
  • Turn off your cell phone at the dinner table
  • Be on time
  • Don’t talk too loud (be considerate of your surroundings)
  • Say the usual, “thank you”, “please”, etc.
  • Chew with your mouth close
  • Don’t talk with your mouth still full of food
  • Cough in your sleeves
  • Wash your hands after going to the restroom
  • Etc.

Overall, this may seems like a lot, or too uptight. However, remember, “Treat others the ways you want to be treated”, do you want to be disrespected? No? Then start treating others the ways you want to be treated.

Featured image:  http://www.gritandglamour.com/2012/06/08/30-days-to-40-lesson-mind-your-manners/

– J

 

Leave a Reply

