Dreaming leads to Doing

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” 

Children are always asked this question. Some might think it’s a bit on the spot, like c’mon, kids don’t even know what they want to be, and if they do, you’ll probably get some weird, highly unachievable answer like: “I wanna be a Sally Car from the Cars movie!”. (C’mon. Anything a human can do is achievable, in my mind. Never doubt anyone or crush someone’s dream.)

I personally love this question. Sure, it gets repetitive, but all in all it gives you time to rethink or mull over your answer.

When I was a kid, one of the first things I ever wanted to be was an orca trainer in SeaWorld. Then along came Blackfish, so there goes that dream.

The other career I absolutely dreamed of having was becoming a marine biologist.

And I have proudly made my first toddling steps.

I volunteer at the Aquarium of the Pacific on Saturdays from 9 to 5, and I couldn’t be happier. I teach and educate guests about different topics (from sharks to hermit crabs and all in between) and I try my hardest to make guests feel welcomed and wanted back.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 7.20.58 AM.png
Northern Touch Lab (Taken on my Samsung Galaxy s5)

Working at the Aquarium is such a wonderful experience. It’s helping me significantly with talking to other people, which is a skill I do need to work on. I find it so much easier to approach people and put my best foot forward.

But my absolute favorite thing about the Aquarium would have to be that spark of curiosity and wonder children hold in their eyes. It was that same spark that I carried when I was their age, looking up at the fish, the sunlight glimmering on the peaks of the ripples in the water, feeling like I belonged there.

That spark has turned into a flame, one that I cannot possibly maintain. My flame will roam and grow and explode until I die. Live your passion, no matter what people say.

My passion is the ocean.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 7.21.02 AM.png
Moon Jellies in the Northern Pacific Gallery (Taken with my Samsung Galaxy S5)

“We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.”
John F. Kennedy

Leave a Reply

